Posted by: cloverchild | November 11, 2010

Nuance Hat

I’ve been on a hat kick lately..mostly for other people! So, I set out to make myself one the other day. I didn’t see a pattern that stuck out saying makememakeme! So I whipped up something for myself on a whim. I’ve been working on a sweater for my daughter using a certain pattern to make it look like knit ribbing, so that’s what I started with for this hat.

I then just added stuff as I felt like as I went along. I made it into a slightly slouchy hat, so it’s comfy and warm..good since it’s begun to snow off and on here :/

You can see the path of destruction by my daughter, since she’s had to stay inside because of the weather. .

So, if there are any errors in here I apologize. I’m writing this as an afterthought, just because I was pleased with how this turned out. More of a recipe than an exact pattern.  🙂

Nuance Hat

Size G hook

Size I hook

WW yarn-I just used some basic Red Heart because it’s overflowing in my stash..

Sewing needle

Special stitches-

Dss/double slip stitch-insert hook into stitch just worked, yo and pull up a loop, insert hook into next stitch, yo and pull up a loop, pull loop through two loops on hook.

X stitch- Skip first stitch, hdc in next stitch, hdc in skipped stitch.

Big puff stitch-yo, insert hook and draw up a loop four times, yo and pull through all loops on hook.

Small puff stitch-yo, insert hook and draw up a loop three times. yo and pull through all loops on hook.

With smaller hook, Ch 80 and without twisting join with a sl st to first chain.

Round 1: Ch 2, and hdc in each chain in the back loop of chain. Join with a sl st to ch 2. 80 sts

Round 2: Ch 1, turn. Starting with first hdc, dss around. Join with sl st to ch 1.

Round 3: Ch 2, turn. Hdc in the back loop only in each st around. Join with a sl st to ch 2.

Repeat rounds 2&3 four more times.

Round 12:  Ch 2, hdc in first st, *ch 1, skip next st, hdc in next st* repeat * to* around,  join with a sl st to ch 2.

Round 13: Ch 2, hdc around. You should still have 80 sts.

Round 14-17: Switch to I hook. Ch 2, hdc around.

Start decreasing-

Round 18: Ch 2, *hdc in next 8 sts, hdc2tog* repeat *to* around. 72 sts

Round 19:  Repeat Round 12. 72 sts

Round 20: Ch 2, *hdc in next 7 sts, hdc2tog* repeat *to* around. 64 sts

Round 21: Repeat Round 12. 64 sts

Round 22: Ch 2, *hdc in next 6 sts, hdc2tog* repeat *to* around. 56 sts

Round 23: Ch 2, x stitch around. 56 sts

Round 24: Ch 2, *hdc in next 5 sts, hdc2tog* repeat *to* around. 48 sts

Round 25: Ch 2, *hdc in next 4 sts, hdc2tog* repeat *to* around. 40 sts

I worked in a lil medallion here, and am just writing from memory soo I hope this works out right! If nothing else do whatever you want to close up your hat.

Round 26: Ch 3, dc in first st, *ch 1, skip 1 st, dc2tog, ch 1, skip 1 st, dc in next st*repeat *to* around.

Round 27: Ch 3, *big puff stitch in ch 1 space, ch 1* repeat *to* around.

Round 28: Ch 3, *small puff stitch in ch 1 space, ch 1* repeat *to* around.

Round 29: Ch 1, sc in each st around.

Cut yarn leaving a long tail for sewing. To close up, thread tail onto needle and insert needle into front loop of first stitch and into front loop of every stitch. Pull yarn tight to close up and then finish off.

 

Responses

  1. What a great design. Thanks for sharing! And I can totally understand the “path of destruction” when our kids have been cooped up inside!

    • thank you! please let me know if you make a hat. I’d love to see it!

  2. […] Value Village for $15 (!), and I could picture it going really well with a grey slouch hat. I used this lovely pattern on Wee Robin, mainly because I was drawn to the flower motif on the back of the […]

  3. lovely pattern! thank you for sharing! blogged here if you’d like to see it: http://genuinemudpie.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/the-joy-of-quick-stitching/

    • Glad you liked it! Looks very good with your sweet coat! 🙂 Thanks for the link too

  4. hi, I love this hat and just began it…does round 2 decrease the stitches?

    • No round 2 does not decrease the stitches

  5. First off I would like to say, I love this hat, I am always on the lookout for hats that are cool and funky, but I am a little confused on how to do the double slip stitch, I have followed the directions about 10 times, and I always end up with 3 sts on my hook not 2, what am I doing wrong?

  6. Thank-you so much, I will check it out 🙂

  7. I love this pattern, I make hats like they are going out of style, this will be my first bottom to top hat made…. I tend to save the expensive yarn for hats that really intrigue me and I love this hat. Hope it turns out for me. 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 I hope it does work out for you..post some pics if it does!


Leave a Reply

Categories

