Posted by: cloverchild | April 27, 2011

Slip Stitch Hat

I’ve recently been introduced to the possibilities of the slip stitch in crochet and have been messing around with it ever since. I made a shrug (which I plan on posting a pattern of as well) and made a hat as well.

It’s done all in slip stitches and sideways, with short rows. It makes for a nice stretchy and comfy hat!

My sis modeling for me.  It’s a looser hat, but I prefer it that way.

Make sure to keep a looser tension than you normally would, and be careful not to miss any stitches!

Caron simply soft-I used maybe half a skein

Size 7.5 hook

Ch 36,

Row 1: sl st in back loops only.

Row 2: ch 1, sl st in back loop only in next 30 sts,turn.

Row 3: sl st

Row 4: ch 1, turn. Sl st in next 25 sts, turn.

Row 5: sl st

Row 6: ch 1, sl st to end.

Row 7: sl st

Repeat rows 2-7 for pattern

I repeated rows 2-7 fifteen times total.

End with a row 6.

Break yarn leaving a long tail for sewing. Thread onto needle, draw top closed, and sew sides together. Weave in ends.

Responses

  1. First let me say I love the look of this hat and would like to give it a try. The hook size is confusing me because I cannot find a size 7.5 in any conversion chart under Metric, US or UK. Maybe an H in US? No gauge given so I think I’ll just jump in and give it a try because like I said I like this hat.

    • I used a 7.5 because it was my pointest hook! haha. it’s closest to an american L size hook, and basically you want a big hook for slip stitching this hat. Pointier and flatter helps too!

      • What mm is the hook you used?

      • I used a 7.5 mm hook. A larger hook helps in slip stitch, as does one that is a bit more on the pointy side.

  2. Hi, Thanks so much for your patterns! I do a lot of charity knitting your hats look so comfy. Peace, Lizzy

    • You are very welcome! 🙂

  3. This looks really interesting. I’m adding it to my Ravelry favorites to work on next! Thanks for sharing!

    • Glad you added it to your favs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

