Posted by: cloverchild | April 29, 2011

Slip Stitch Preemie Beanie <3

So I have been working on some preemie items to donate to my friend, who is working hard for march of dimes next month. I decided to write up some patterns, and I thought it a good opportunity to practice my slip stitching.

G hook

H hook

Baby weight yarn

Sl St Dec-insert hook into next st, yo & pull up a loop, insert hook into next stitch, yo & pull through 3 loops on hook.

With G hook, ch 48, without twisting join in round to first ch.

Switch to H hook

Round 1: Sl st in back loop only in each ch around.

Rounds 2-23: sl st in front loop only in each ch around. Work only in front loops from here on out.

Round 24: [sl st in first 4 sts, sl st dec] repeat [] around. 40 sts

Round 25: [ sl st in first 3 sts, sl st dec] repeat [] around. 32 sts

Round 26: [sl st in first 2 sts, sl st dec] repeat [] around. 24 sts

Round 27: [sl st in first st, sl st dec] repeat [] around. 16 sts

Round 28: sl st dec around. 8 sts

Break yarn leaving long tail for sewing. Thread onto needle, then weave thru front loops only. Pull tightly to close.

Weave in ends.

Daughter’s baby is my model today. šŸ™‚

I’ll add a newborn size next, then I plan on going up thru adult sizes, since it seems to make a nice comfy hat šŸ™‚

Responses

  1. I belong to a local knitting club, and we do a lot for the various charities here in Australia and around the world. I do like this premmie beannie as it it bright and cheerful and will be sharing this pattern with our club members – as we do a lot for King Edward Women’s Hospital in Perth, Western Australia, as well as our local hospital here. Thank you so much for sharing it with others. Cheers, Green Frog.

    • That’s fantastic! I hope it can help out some babies šŸ™‚ I want to update soon with some bigger sizes with a worsted weight yarn as well, hopefullly within the next couple of days. šŸ™‚

  2. […] Slip Stitch Preemie Beanie ā¤ « Wee RobinApr 29, 2011 … Slip Stitch Preemie Beanie <3. So I have been working on some preemie items to donate to my friend, who is working hard for march of dimes … […]

  3. love to know sized for adult.

    • I’ve been working on some different slip stitch hats, I’m hoping I’ll get some time soon to post some patterns! Including adult sizes šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

