Posted by: cloverchild | December 22, 2010

Lights out! Eye Mask

My mother is prone to the occasional migraine, so I thought she might like a nice eye mask as part of her Christmas present. However, I didn’t like any of the patterns I came across. So I decided to write one up for her! I made it a little over sized to block out more light, and tried to give it some lift over the eyes. It holds onto your head by way of chains that go around your ears, as I didn’t want anything you had to lay your head uncomfortably on, though you could easily change this to some elastic or a band that goes around your head if you so desire.

Lights Out! Eye Mask

Size E hook

WW Yarn in MC and CC

With MC, Ch 16

Row 1: Hdc in 3rd ch from hook in the back loop and in each back loop across. 14 sts

Row 2: ch 2, 2 hdc in first st, hdc to last st, 2 hdc. 16 sts

Row 3: ch 2, hdc across 16 sts

Rows 4: ch 2, hdc to last st, 2 hdc in last st  17 sts

Rows 5-6 :ch 2, hdc across

Row 7: ch 2, hdc to last st, 2 hdc in last st. 18 sts

Rows 8-9: ch 2, across

Row 10: ch 2, hdc2tog, hdc to end. 17 sts

Row 11: ch 2, hdc to last 2 sts, hdc2tog. 16 sts

Row 12: ch 2, hdc2tog, hdc to end. 15 sts

Row 13: ch 2, hdc in next 6 sts, hdc3tog, hdc in next 3 sts, hdc2tog. 12 sts

Row 14: ch 2, hdc in next 3 sts, hdc3tog, hdc to end. 10 sts

Row 15: ch 2, hdc across

Break yarn, fasten off.

Make a second half, same as first. Break yarn, leaving tail for sewing. Sew two halves together. Weave in loose ends.

I did a picot border on mine.

For a no frills border, join CC on a corner and sc around, placing 2 sc in corners.

For some fun, join CC on a corner, *sc, [sc, ch 3, sl st into side of sc]* around. This makes a little picot border.

Whichever way you choose to make a border, at the end of it, sl st to first st, ch 20, sl st to matching corner.

Join yarn to other side, ch 20, sl st to matching corner.

Weave in ends

Close up on the chain on edge.

I’ll try to add a picture later of me wearing it. Hard to take a pic of yourself whilst wearing an eye mask..

 


Responses

  1. this pattern is great I made to of them and stitched the together on the sides and bottom and added a thin zipper on top I use the frozen gel mask which is way to cold on its own

  2. “Rows 8-9: ch 2, across” Can you please help me with this? What are we doing across? sc? hdc? ch 2?

    • I apologize for that. It should be hdc across


Leave a comment

Categories